How to create a custom Facebook Profile and Page URL


Get your free hosting discount coupon right now!


Recently I’ve started a discussion on the Blog Engage Facebook Page entitled “Custom Link to Blog Engage Facebook Page“. By the time the Facebook Page of this great community of bloggers created by Brian, had an ugly and not people friendly URL.

First I’ve noticed that some other Pages had an unique URL for example “facebook.com/Google“. So I wondered “I wantΒ my Facebook Page URL to be like that and not a bunch of numbers and letters that are hard to share and impossible to remember”. I wanted an unique URL.

I’ve had this problem with my own Facebook Profile and the Page created by the company I work, recently. Β I’ve started to Google it, but I wasn’t able to find any kind of tutorial about how to create a custom Facebook Profile and Page URL. But after some time and effort I managed to find out by my self how to do it. So now, I’m here sharing with you and with all those who are looking for the answer to this question.

Changing your Facebook Profile and Page URL

First, all you have to do is to log in to Facebook and open this page:Β www.facebook.com/username .

You’ll be redirected to a page like the one below. There you’ll be able to choose a username, in other words, a custom URL of your Profile.

In the same page you can choose to “Set a username for your Pages”, which will lead you this other page below. Finally you’ll be able to choose a custom username for your Pages and have uniques URLs for them.

If you are trying but keep getting this message “Your Page is not eligible for a username at this time. In the future, you will be able to set a username”, that’s because your page must have at least 25 Likes.

Well, I guess now you know how to set up custom ULRs for your Facebook Profile and Pages. If you have any questions or want to share some experience, simply leave a comment!

If you like this post, share it! A comment wouldn’t hurt too πŸ˜€

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to StumbleUponAdd to Twitter

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

24 responses to “How to create a custom Facebook Profile and Page URL”

  1. ileaneb says :

    Hi TechGuia, this is a great tip. Thanks so much. Let me ask you a question, how do you keep your work FB page and your personal FB page separate? Do you use a different email address and name for each? I’m having that problem because I don’t want my work FB and my personal/blog pages to have anything to do with each other. I have a different email for work but I don’t know what to use for a name. If I use my own name will it appear anywhere on the work profile?

    Thanks!

    • gbvaz says :

      Hello Ileane, thanks for commenting! Yes, the Facebook Page from my work has a different e-mail. If you use your name as a Username for your work FB Page, it will appear, but keep in mind that Facebook Page is different from Facebook Profile.

  2. bbrian017 says :

    Hey thanks for giving the big heads up n this TechGuia. I have since changed my url like you suggested on all my facebook images.

    • gbvaz says :

      Hey Brian! I thought it would be useful. Good to know! Thanks for commenting! By the way, I couldn’t find your FB Profile, if you wish, you may add me. Cheers!

  3. Uppenkamp says :

    Yeah, it’s good, very useful, thanks πŸ™‚

  4. gbvaz says :

    Glad you liked it!

  5. Gojeg says :

    Hmm..the original URL from Facebook is too long. That’s good tips to make it easier to remember. πŸ˜€

  6. Tek3D says :

    Wow, I don’t know that we can change username for Facebook pages. My page is now available at http://www.facebook.com/Tek3D, neat and very friendly URL.
    Thanks very much for the tips.

  7. Koach says :

    this is indeed very helpful information. if you need further customization, check out social media funk on facebook. πŸ™‚

  8. Paul Tech says :

    This is very useful advice. I have the same problem too and now I can set a user name which is more unique and easy to rememeber.

  9. kathcom says :

    Thanks–this is great info. I had no idea how to get a new username for my site. I stumbled my way around everything before and feel like I painted myself into a corner. I don’t want my personal FB page to be linked. So I need a new identity, I think.

  10. Miki says :

    hi,
    thank you very much for this article. Very easy to understand and to apply :). However I still have a small problem. It happens that I have 2 fan pages: one with more than 1000 likes and info but without URL page and the 2nd with just 100 but with a URL page.
    Now I want to delete the 2nd one but I want to tranfer the URL page name to the 1st one. I want to do this because I want to make sure that I keep the exactly username for the URL page. Is it possible?
    thank you in advance for your answer.

    Miki

    • gbvaz says :

      Hello, thanks for leaving a comment! About your problem, I’m not sure but, I think what you want to do is not possible. I guess once a page gets a custom URL, no other will be able to have the same even deleting the original one. But I can be wrong, if is not too risky try it out. If it is try contacting Facebook! And be sure to share this precious information here! πŸ™‚ Thanks again.

  11. Raj Agrawal says :

    Hi Guilherme, this is very helpful post. I created my blog’s fan page few days ago and was wondering why i’m not being allowed to set the custom name for the fan page. Well, now i know why. Thanks!

  12. Max - The IT Pro says :

    Great post dude!! Thanks a million! YOU r da MAN!

Leave a Reply

